Sunset’s Tanning Secret

25 Oct

I am very fair skinned, but since I do a lot of bikini modeling, my clients always request for me to be tan. I don’t believe in going to tanning salons since my grandpa passed away from skin cancer from working outside with no sunblock all his life. There is always the option of getting a spray tan, but standing a box where you can’t breathe and being cold from the wet spray is kind of awful to me. I prefer to tan in the privacy and comfort of my own home. With that being said, I have tried and tested so many self tanning products over the years, these are the best ones that I’ve tried and are by far my favorites.

1.  BANANA BOAT Summer Color Self-Tanning Lotion in Deep Dark Color

BANANA BOAT Summer Color Self-Tanning Lotion in Deep Dark Color is the easiest lotion to apply, and lotion is a natural brown tint to it, so when you apply it you can see where it goes and also gives you a natural instant tan, which develops into a deeper tan overnight. Light scent, so not too obvious that you are wearing self tanner. I put it on before bed so it soaks in overnight, and it doesn’t easily come off on clothes once dry. For a deeper color I layer it on by showering at night, applying one layer and going to bed, and then followed by applying another layer in the morning. You don’t have to use rubber gloves when applying this one, because it washes off your hands easily. But for some types of tanner I buy rubber gloves at the pharmacy (Rite Aid, CVS, or Walgreens) or beauty supply store (like  Sally Beauty) and wear them on my hands while rubbing it into my skin. There is no sparkles in it, and it dries quickly (about 10 minutes) Best part is, the price! On average it’s about $7.50 and sometimes I find it on sale as a 2 for 1 deal at Ulta stores. I found it at Walmart and Ulta. Here’s a link to order it online from Ulta Banana Boat Summer Color

2. So Bronze Self-Tanning Body Bronzing 

I use this product in conjunction with the Summer Color Self-Tanning Lotion (seen above). I use it to spray on my face, neck, hands and feet ONLY. It gives me even color in those hard to get places, and it’s important that a self-tan also looks like a natural tan…so this is My Secret.

So Bronze spray instantly creates a light golden glow immediately and also has Self-Tanning bronzers that gradually develop within 2-4 hours.

  • Ultra fine mist-Great for using on FACE, HANDS AND FEET for an even application.
  • Dries quickly in less than 5 minutes and won’t stain clothing-FOR EVEN FASTER DRYING, I use a hair dryer on a cool heat setting to speed up the pace!  (ESPECIALLY AFTER SPRAYING ON FACE-I suggest to keep your eyes closed if you spray on your face, until spray application is dry)
  • Hands free, no rub application-which makes it easy to spray on the tops of your hands and feet.
  • Doesn’t smell
“Directions

For best results apply to clean, exfoliated skin. Shake well before and during each use. Hold can 4-6 inches away from skin and spray in an even continuous sweeping motion. Apply sparingly around ankles, knees, elbows and hairline. Designed to spray at any angle, even upside down.  Allow skin to dry before dressing. Avoid bathing, swimming and perspiring for at least 3 hours. Reapply as needed to maintain or deepen color.”

It is a little pricey for tanning spray at $34.00, but I only use it on my face, hands and feet, so it goes a long way. You can buy it online or at your local Ulta store.

 

3.) Giesee and it’s called SUN in Very Dark color.

In the photo below are the gloves that I use to apply self tanner. I purchase them at Rite Aid, but you can usually find them at any pharmacy. The Vinyl gloves I find are the best kind to apply self tanner with and help you to get a smooth application without running the risk of orange palms. Plus, it saves you the time from having to scrub your hands after applying. The white bottle is a new self tanner I started using. It’s on the expensive side, but it is really dark, has sort of a cherry/almond scent to it, and sticks to my face well. I have been using that one mostly on my face the night before. But I also like to use it on my body when I need a dark tan fast! It’s by Giesee and it’s called SUN in Very Dark color. I bought it at an Ulta store, I wasn’t able to find it on their online store, BUT I found it for you for less than half price on Amazon.com!!!! HOW AWESOME AM I? Here is the link:

http://www.amazon.com/Sun-Laboratories-Sunsation-Tanning-Lotion/dp/B0009V8N4U/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1336407203&sr=8-2

I’m even going to order it online from now on, since it’s HALF the price!! Yay!

Even though this bronzer comes in a pump bottle, close the bottle when you are done by twisting the pump. When the air gets to it, it tends to turn a greenish color, and you don’t want that!

Let me know how you girls do with this, and if this post was helpful?

11 Responses to “Sunset’s Tanning Secret”

  1. SM (@XOXO201) May 7, 2012 at 4:15 am #

    Hi- great post! I was wondering if you spray the So bronze on your face before or after doing your makeup? Also, would you use this for your legs and arms as well?

    • Sunset Blonde's Blog May 7, 2012 at 4:04 pm #

      Always put self tanner on your face BEFORE doing your makeup. I would also highly recommend applying it the night before to let the color develop overnight. I also added a photo to the bottom of this post for another tanning lotion that I just started using on my face, using the gloves. It is working great, and gets super dark! A lotion might be safer and easier to apply to your face, since you have to be careful NOT get the spray kind in your eyes, or in your hair. I mainly use the spray type for hands and feet, and sometimes for my back (since it’s hard to reach). Plus, since the Go Bronze spray is more expensive, it lasts longer if you only use it on those areas.

      • Mapi June 6, 2012 at 4:49 am #

        Do you use the lotion on your face too? Is it ok? I loeokd at the SunLabs site and they sell face tanning lotion too I’ve used the regular lotion on my face and had no problems with it. However, if you have large pores it might color those, so I think that’s why they sell a seperate self tanner for the face.

  2. Szablony allegro May 22, 2012 at 1:51 pm #

    Great article, very interesting. Regards

  3. Jessica May 24, 2012 at 2:24 am #

    Would you recommend the banana boat deep dark tanner for fair skin? Does it streak easily? That’s what turns me off to most self tanners. Thanks for the post- great tips!

    • Sunset Blonde's Blog May 28, 2012 at 4:04 pm #

      Yes, the deep dark works great on fair skin. If you are nervous about how dark, and want something more subtle, they make it in a light/medium. I feel like the deep dark isn’t dark enough sometimes, and I will apply another layer a few hours later and build it up.

    • Sunset Blonde's Blog May 28, 2012 at 4:05 pm #

      Also, when you apply it, there is already color in it, so you can see where you are applying it to. As long as you do an even application, you won’t ge streaks. Thanks for your questions and for checking out my blog! 🙂

  4. Koceva June 6, 2012 at 2:42 am #

    I am new to this youtube thing..but why do plepoe say they love love something if they really don’t? I wouldn’t think they would want that company to send them more stuff if they didn’t like it even though its free??Anyway, great tips. I want try this (first time self tanner) but have been nervous to have bad color! The only way to see is to try it out for myself I guess Do you use the lotion on your face too? Is it ok? I looked at the SunLabs site and they sell face tanning lotion too

  5. Aditha June 6, 2012 at 2:50 am #

    I have this now, and I’m in love! It does give a very natural lokniog color, which is very important. It smells actually kinda pleasant, and the color guide actually gives you decent instant color! One of my friends used to use Jergens and she’s fair and flushes a lot. When she would flush, the Jergens would turn a bright reddish orange and looked super fake. Also looked fake in certain lighting. With sun labs, I’ve noticed it always looks natural, not matter what lighting.

  6. Misty July 21, 2012 at 8:10 am #

    Hello..i barely bought the banana boat self tanning lotion, im liking it so far, but i was wondering can i go swimming with it? will it wear off?

    • Sunset Blonde's Blog July 21, 2012 at 10:41 am #

      I’m glad that you are liking it Misty! All self tanners will start to come off when you go swimming. If you apply it at least 24 hours before getting in the pool, it will stay on a little longer. Self tanners are only very temporary, since your skin is naturally exfoliating and shedding constantly. Self tanners barely last a few days without swimming, so just keep that in mind.

Leave a Reply

