Make Your Own NUDE Nail Polish

4 Jun

I love Bare Minerals, you can read about it in previous posts, so when I came across this amazingly creative idea in a magazine, I HAD to try it!! It worked great, and so I wanted to share it with you!

_____________________________________________________________________

You can make your own custom nude nail polish color by mixing your Mineral Foundation with an ivory or cream shade of nail polish. I tried it out on an old bottle of nail polish that I got at Ulta, it was kind of an ivory color that I used to use for French Manicures.

Here’s what you need:

1. Bare Mineral Powder Foundation

2. Ivory or cream colored nail polish

3. A spatula

I scooped about 4 spatulas of the Bare Minerals Foundation into the nail polish, and then screwed the cap back on. (see below=1 scoop on the spatula)

 

Shake it up until fully mixed.You can start to see the nail polish color change colors to a nude shade.

 

My nails naturally have a bluish purple color to them as you can see in the photo below. It is especially blue when I am cold, which I think looks really weird. So I love the idea of a nude color that matches my skin tone! Pictured below, left is my nail with only clear polish on, and the right 2 nails are painted with one coat of the new nude shade of nail polish that I just made.

Here is what it looks like on my nails after 1 coat:

Here is what it looks like after 2 coats of polish:

 

A few days later I did my nails again, and wanted to paint them using the same new nude nail polish color that I made, but wanted to make it more shimmery instead of such a matte nude. So it tried adding 1 coat of “show me the ring” by Essie Nail color over 2 coats of the BM nude nail color.

Here is how it came out, “show me the ring” is sort of a sheer white-gold shade, and so layering it over the nude made it look like a shimmery golden nude color.

So pretty, and really nice neutral shade for my photoshoots.

What a great new use for Bare Minerals and to revamp an old nail polish color! I’m also going to try and see what happens if I add it to a bright pink color or red….

Let me know if you try this, and what you think!

Thanks for reading!

xo

2 Responses to “Make Your Own NUDE Nail Polish”

  1. Phoebe August 2, 2012 at 12:15 pm #

    Thanks so much for sharing this, really cool! But have you talked to your doctor about your blue and purple nails? Nails should be a healthy pink color, and if your nails are like this it may be a sign of a serious health condition. I suggest you tell your doctor if you haven’t yet.

    • Sunset Blonde's Blog August 2, 2012 at 12:19 pm #

      Thanks, but it’s just because I’m cold most of the time. Even my lips turn blue if I’m the slightest bit cold. I’m very healthy and it’s just one of those weird things about me. Blood underneath your skin tends to look blue, and since I’m so fair skinned it’s easy to see the bluish color.

Leave a Reply

