BARBIE INSPIRED MAKEUP

5 Jun

Barbie Inspired Makeup, Farrah Fawcet Inspired Hair

Sometimes some of my friends call me a Real Life Barbie, so this inspired me to do some Barbie Inspired Makeup!

Here are the products that I used for this look…

(No photoshop)

FOUNDATION:  I used was by Makeup Forever HD Invisible Cover Foundation in shade #128 Almond. A nice TAN color, with yellow undertones that matches my dark self tan.

The Gossamer Loose Powder by Kevyn Aucoin in shade Radiant Diaphanous Applied with the FANCY FACE BRUSH by Sunset Blonde

LIPSTICK: Smashbox Be Legendary lipstick in “Pout” which is a bumblegum pink shade.

LIPGLOSS: Over the lipstick I added a layer of Pink Lip Gloss by Bare Esscentuals in “7 layer cake” which I buy when I go to Norway, because Sephora doesn’t carry this color. But I found it for you online at the Bare Essentials website

EYEBROWS: Eyebrows are filled in with Makeup Forever Waterproof Eyebrow Correcter in #0 Blonde & and recycled mascara wand*. I squirt out a line of the eyebrow corrector onto the back of my hand and coat the wand in it on all sides, then brush the want bristles into my eyebrows in the direction of the hairs being careful to only get it on my eyebrows. This fills them in nicely and looks more natural than a pencil and lasts longer than a powder.

*Tip: Before throwing out your old/used mascara, remove the wand and wash it clean under warm soap and water and dry it off with a clean towel. You can now use this clean mascara wand to smooth and shape your eyebrows, declump and separate lashes, tame fly-aways, or apply eyebrow color (as mentioned above). And you are finding a new use for something you would have just thrown away! Be Green!


EYE MAKEUP: I applied the eyeshadow with the Deluxe Crease brush from Sunset Blonde first into the crease, and blended it with the Soft Blender Brush by Sunset Blonde.

Deluxe Crease Brush from SUNSET BLONDE:

Soft Blender Brush from SUNSET BLONDE:

EYESHADOW: Eyeshadow from LORAC in “Garnet”. You can buy it for $9.00 at Ulta. I applied it only in crease and outer corners, just like my Signature eye How-to. This eyeshadow color is really great for Blue eyes, it is a contrasting color that really makes blue eyes Pop! It also looks really burgendy in the pot, but when applied and blended the color changes slightly, which I like. The eyeshadow only applied to the top eyelids. NO mascara or eyeshadow undereyes.

You could also try it in “AFTER PARTY” which looks sort of similar:

LASHES: Individual lashes applied to entire top eyelid evenly to add natural looking volume to my lashes. I used the FLARE SHORT BLACK lashes from DURALASH by Ardell. I used 24 lashes in total, 12 on each eye. I applied them with a small tweezer by gently removing them from the tray by grabbling them at the base of the lash with the tweezer. After removing the lash from the tray I set it down and grab it by the end flare of the lash so that you can dip the tip into the glue and apply to the base of your lashes. I used the clear-white DUO adhesive glue for applying the individual lashes, this glue will wash off with soap and water.

Mascara: Loreal Voluminous Mascara in Carbon Black applied only to top lashes & false lashes to blend the false and real lashes together.

CONCEALER:  I used my Dermacolor Concealer under my eyes on the dark circles.

CONTOURING AND BLUSH ON CHEEKS: was applied with the Sunset Blonde Fancy Cheeky Brushes, one for blush & one for bronzer. You need two brushes, so you don’t muddy the colors together.

BRONZER: The bronzer that I used is from Benefit in HOOLA. It is a great matte shade for contouring cheeks with the Fancy Cheeky Brush. I applied this bronzer BEFORE applying blush by using a FANCY CHEEKY Brush from SUNSET BLONDE. Dust the brush into bronzer and apply under your cheekbones holding the brush angled downwards, sweeping the brush horizontally back and forth to blend and build color.

BLUSH: is from Physicians Formula HAPPY in the color PINK, I love the little hearts and the scent is so nice, plus it’s a really pinky shade with subtle shimmer, perfect for a Barbie inspired look.

I applied the blush with the Fancy Cheeky Brush right on my cheekbone and very sublty to the apples of my cheeks. Here is what it should look like when you apply bronzer to contour your cheeks, and then a pop of pink blush blended above the contouring:

With FLUFFED UP HAIR, Farrah Fawcet inspired, easy to do, just curl hair in the direction away from your face and tease up with a brush similar to this (and of course you have to use a pink brush!!)

To explain this is a little tricky, the best way I can think to describe how to do this is for you to grab a 4 inch section of your hair and the very ends. Hold the hair at the very bottom with one hand and in your other hand, use the brush to gently brush upward 1 inch at a time from underneath, so it is gently teasing a large section of your hair. This gives a lot of bounce and volume to your hair. Just try not to make too much of a knotty mess. Be gentle and do it slowly.

Hope you enjoyed this post. Let me know if you have any other questions!

2 Responses to “BARBIE INSPIRED MAKEUP”

  1. Nau June 8, 2012 at 12:03 pm #

    Thanks for sharing! You’re Gorgeous! I would like to know which eye brush would you recommend for setting under eye concealer with and which brush would work best for the crease area. I would also like to know which face brush would work best for contouring and would you do a blog post about contouring. Please let me know. I would like to order the brushes soon but wanted to get your opinion.

    Thank You!

    • Sunset Blonde's Blog June 16, 2012 at 10:13 am #

      For contouring, the Fancy cheeky brush is amazing, and makes it so easy to apply contouring under your cheekbones, around the face, and jawline. For setting concealer I would recommend this amazing new brush I have coming out soon called the Fancy Touch Brush. It can be used for applying powder in small areas like under eyes and around the nose, as well as an eyeshadow blending brush.

Leave a Reply

