Day 2 On Location: Hawaiian Beach Bikini Photo Shoot

11 Jun

Day 2 On Location: Hawaiian Beach Bikini Photo Shoot

Below is a photo of all of the crew setting up the shot. You can see me with my set bag perfecting the model’s hair before she starts shooting.

The weather starting out this morning didn’t go as well as hoped on day 2. Up at 4am to start hair and makeup on the new model, only to get to our location at 6am, and wait around for an hour to see if the sky would clear up  to get some nice sunlight to shoot.

I took a photo of the sky around 6:30am, the sun is just barely visible through the oncoming clouds. The ground below is dark, and there isn’t enough natural light to properly shoot the model with.

Our model of the day was Julia Docherty. She was a great sport running back and forth in and out of the pop up changing tent to stay dry from the rain. Below in a photo of the pop up changing tent. It’s convenient but rare to have a tent like this on location. But it is great for model’s to change inside of when on a public beach for some privacy and rapid outfit changes. Just wanted to show you this because it’s kind of a neat invention that makes on location shoots more comfortable for a model.

 
Soon after we changed locations to shoot at the Aqua Nui House. This is the photographer’s house that we are staying at. This is a shot of the back of the house, the ocean & beach are the backyard, which makes it a perfect shoot location!
 
 

This is the gorgeous model for Day 2, Julia Docherty, a D cup swimsuit model that fills out the Sunsets Inc. swimsuits nicely. She was stunning, and had amazing eyes. In the photo below you can see how I styled her hair and did her makeup for the shoot. I played up her eyes, contoured her cheeks and gave her a nude/natural lip. Her hair was styled with soft beachy curls and sexy side swept bangs. This hairstyle was hard to keep looking fresh and perfect on her because of her fine hair type. 4 touch-ups where required to re-curl her hair throughout the day, and lots of hairspray was used!

Her eyeshadow was a Metallic Eye shadow in a green shade from Bobbie Brown called Sage which I blended into her creases and under the outer corners of her eyes. I used Bone also By Bobbie Brown and blended it onto her lids and brow bone.

In Julia’s hair I added some clip-in hair extensions to keep her hair looking fuller and curled, since hair extensions hold curl really well.

I used a combination of all 3 of these hairsprays throughout the day for controlling frizz and flyways, as well as for hold during re-curling.

Below is a photo of me touching up her hair in between shots, standing behind as shade panel that is known as a scrim. Photographers use a scrim to shade the model from direct sunlight, it’s basically a lighting tool.

She is wearing faux lashes, and Loreal Voluminous Mascara in carbon black, and Kevyn Aucoin The Eye Pencil Primatif in Black on top lashline only and blended.

I applied Makeup Forever HD Foundation in color #123, with a custom powder to set it that I made with yellow undertones to match her tan.

I used MAC Bronzer in GOLDEN under her cheekbones and jawline for contouring with the FANCY CHEEKY BRUSH from SUNSET BLONDE, and Kevyn Aucoin blush in Dolline on her upper cheeks.

Kevyn Aucoin The Pure Powder Glow – Dolline which I find to be the perfect matte apricot shade:

Julia needed a long lasting lip color for her lips so I made a custom color for her from Loreal Infallible Lipsticks in #812 Opulent Organza & #423 Perpetual Peach. These have nice staying power and go on creamy. Both of these colors are great to use by themselves and look great if you want a natural color for many skin tones. #812 is more of a matte berry color, and #423 is a shimmery peachy pink. I think that a combination of the 2 makes a perfect shade.

An on-set trick from Sunset Blonde:  It might look weird, but works great! I like to take a small amount of lipstick with me to go in a Disposable container when on location, instead taking the entire lipstick with me and risking a meltdown in my “on-set” bag in the blazing sun.  I’ve come up with a great idea for those plastic containers that false lashes come in, I smear a small amount of lipstick straight from the tube onto the plastic & Go! This not only keeps my lipsticks sanitary, and from melting, but it allows me to keep a separate tray of lipstick for each model that is portable. Great idea to reuse an item you might normally trash.

At photo shoots there are usually racks of bikinis, stacks of accessories and it can get pretty messy. This company is great in that they neatly hang up the bikinis with matching cover-ups, and attached to the hangers in plastic bags are the accessories nicely matched up for each outfit change that have been selected prior to the shoot day. This organization strategy speeds up the changing time in between shots, and makes it easy for the stylists and models to know what the complete next outfit is. I love it when designers are super organized and time efficient!

As I described in Day 1, I love my on-set bag, so I thought I would take some photos of my actual bag so that you can see me wearing it, and what I am able to fit in it! I like to wear it across my body so that I don’t have to worry about it falling off my shoulder. As you can see, I have a lot of useful items for touch ups, brushes, hairspray, compacts, bug spray, even a favorite of mine… coconut water for hydration.  This bag also makes a great travel toiletry bag for the travel lovers reading this!

By late morning the sun was shining high in the sky and we pushed through a lot of shooting. I had to blur out the model on the far left, so that you can’t see her bikini, because they will not be released until July, so I have to keep them a secret 😉

I will be modeling on day 3 & 4…so stay tuned for more photos and info!

Love,

SUNSET BLONDE

2 Responses to “Day 2 On Location: Hawaiian Beach Bikini Photo Shoot”

  1. Jessica March 8, 2013 at 11:29 am #

    Where are those clip hair extensions from that you used? Would like to purchase some 🙂

Leave a Reply

