MY HAIR TOOLS

12 Jun

I have been getting so many requests for hair tutorials and what I use to do my hair. I haven’t had the chance to to a tutorial video yet, but at the very least I wanted to share which tools I use. Just like with makeup brushes, I believe that if you don’t have the right tools, you wont get the same/best results. Therefore, I figured you girls would be interested to see what I use.

There are 5 main tools that I use almost every time I style my hair. And not just any curling iron or straightener will do. You have to find the right ones. Most girls that I know, don’t use the right curling iron, let alone know how to use it.

THE BRUSHES:

I have 3 brushes that I like to use. A paddle brush (Hot Tools Pink Titanium Paddle Brush) used mainly during blow drying, a round brush (Conair Tourmaline Ceramic Large Round Porcupine Brush) that I use to style my bangs while blow drying, and a TIGI Bed Head Clean Freak Tourmaline “Split Personality Styler” brush that I use when I’m traveling because it is a 2-in-1 brush. Even when I’m at home I will use the SPS instead of the other 2 brushes because it is easier. I love this brush.

Hot Tools Pink Titanium Paddle Brush

Conair Tourmaline Ceramic Large Round Porcupine Brush)

TIGI Bed Head Clean Freak Tourmaline “Split Personality Styler” brush

THE CURLING IRONS:

I also love having a selection of different size curling irons. Seeing them sitting there all lined up and seeing the options! Love. They look so alike, but each one gives a slightly different result, so depending on your mood or the occasion you can be creative in the way you curl your hair.

Now, a curling iron is not just a curling iron. . . I’ve never found a better brand than Hot Tools curling irons. They are well priced, and I recommend trying to buy yours on sale since they go on sale often. For the money, these are the best! What I love about them is not only are they easy to use and affordable, they work very well. What makes them work better than other curling irons? The durability of them, as well as the adjustable heat setting. I highly recommend that you get all of your hair tools with an adjustable heat setting, mine have it, this is important to protect your hair. They also have a few different types of curling irons, in many different sizes.

I have 3 curling irons, but the one I use most frequently is the 1-1/4″ Professional Spring Iron for large, loose curls by Hot Tools. I have it in the classic black & gold, and also the Titanium and Pink. I also have the 1″ Professional Spring Iron for full curls and waves, and the 1-1/2″ Professional Spring Iron for longer hair and creating extra-large, loose curls and waves.

1-1/4″ Titanium Professional Spring Iron for large, loose curls by Hot Tools

1″ Professional Spring Iron for full curls and waves

1-1/4″ Professional Spring Iron for large, loose curls by Hot Tools

1-1/2″ Professional Spring Iron for longer hair and creating extra-large, loose curls and waves

These curling irons have a Soft-Grip™ textured handle, adjustable temperatures up to 430° F (220° C), a powerful spring clamp, Extra-high heat, 24K gold-plated barrel or Titanium surface (on the pink one), Fast heat-up, Heavy-duty long-life heating element, Foldaway safety stand, Extra-long cool tip, 8-ft. heavy-duty tangle-proof swivel cord, & On / Off switch.

I always buy mine from ULTA:

http://search.ulta.com/search?p=Q&userid=Guest&w=hot+tools+curling+iron

THE FLAT IRON:

I have this flat iron in 2 sizes, the 1 inch ($99) and 1.5 inch ($140).

The Croc LED Black Titanium 1″ Flat Iron“Croc Classic Titanium iron has 1″ plates for easy styling of all hair lengths. Ceramic heating elements provide effortless styling, healthy shiny hair, quick heat recovery. Provides negative ions to seal in moisture. Auto 30 minute shut off and 4 heat settings from 280* to 450* for long lasting styles. Smooth titanium plates.”

The Croc LED Black Titanium 1″ Flat Iron

The Croc Regular Black 1.5″ Flat Iron

Croc Classic Titanium for all keratin treatments 1″ Black Titanium Plates for easy styling. “Croc Classic Titanium iron has 1 1/2” plates for easy styling on long hair. Ceramic heating elements provide effortless styling, healthy shiny hair and generate far infrared heat and negative ions to seal in moisture. Auto 30 minute shut off and 18 heat settings for all types of hair. Creates silky shiny hair and long lasting styles. “

I love these straighteners and think they are the best. My hair glides though them easily, and when using these on clients I can adjust the heat setting to suit their hair. I always use these on the lowest heat settings of 280 degrees for my fragile hair, but they get as hot as 450 degrees. They have digital adjustable heat settings so you can see exactly what temperature it’s at. It heats up really quickly and has an auto shut off, so you don’t ever accidentally leave it on. (Which I’ve been known to do with my curling irons…I wish those had auto shut off!)
I also bought these flat irons at ULTA.
THE HAIR DRYER:
I am not the most organized person, but I try really hard to be, and so when I am getting ready in the morning and I am styling my hair, I have cords, tools, hairbrushes, styling products all over the counter.  To combat this disaster, when shopping for a new hair dryer I came across the retractable cord kind, and figured that I would try it out. The Conair Cord Keeper 1875 Watt Styler Dryer 241 is the one I ended up getting. There is a similar model if you can’t find the one I have, or if you want it in a different color.  It was so cheap only $20! Not only does the cord disappear with the push of a button, but the dry works fantastic. It has multiple heat settings, and gets really hot which I love. It also has a cool shot, and nozzle attachments. For around $25 it’s a great value. It’s not super quiet, or really fancy, it’s just a hair dryer. But I like the cord feature and it’s a MUST to have a dryer with heat settings.

Conair Cord Keeper 1875 Watt Styler Dryer 241

Conair Ionic Ceramic Cord-Keeper, Model 209X

Hope this helps you girls figure out what tools to use for styling your hair like mine. If you have any other questions, please feel free to ask, I always try to personally get back to each comment. Thanks for reading!

Love,

SUNSET BLONDE

4 Responses to “MY HAIR TOOLS”

  1. Bratty Nikki (@bratty_nikki) June 12, 2012 at 5:02 pm #

    Can’t wait for your hair tutorials!! Thanks for all the great tips.

  2. kt June 13, 2012 at 7:09 am #

    thanks for the tips! =) a post i would LOVEEE to see is how u stay in shape and what your diets like! u have THEE most amazing bod!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Flirt Photoshoot Ad Campaign-Behind The Scenes « Sunset Blonde's Blog - June 24, 2012

    […] some clip in hair extensions before arriving at the photo shoot and she added some wave with a hot tools 1 1/2 inch barrel curling iron for a beachy wave. She hair sprayed the locks and teased a lot at the […]

  2. VIVA GLAM MAGAZINE PARTY-Red Carpet Look « Sunset Blonde's Blog - August 2, 2012

    […] LA that night, so I figured my hair would soften and curl anyway. I used a 1 inch curling iron by Hot Tools, and curled pieces away from my face. I just blow dryed my bangs forward with a large round brush […]

Leave a Reply

