Button Up Love

3 Jul

Button Up LOVE!

Lately my go-to wardrobe staple has been a variety of button ups. Denim, silk, plaid, are just a few of my new favorites. I got them at fairly affordable prices, and since I get so much wear out of them it’s worth it to invest in a few different styles and colors. Always classy, always classic.

CHAMBRAY/DENIM BUTTON UP

My favorite ones right now are my denim/Chambray shirts from American Eagle. I have them in 2 colors, but I tend to wear the lighter one more often since it’s more summery. I sort of treat them like an alternative to a jean jacket when it’s too warm to wear a jean jacket. They also go really well with the colored denim trend that is really popular. They also work great with leggings and boots, or even over a bikini!

You can find these shirts in a lot of stores right now since they are very trendy for summer. But here is the link to the one’s I have from American Eagle, and also one from BR:

American Eagle:

http://www.ae.com/web/browse/product.jsp?productId=1354_5154_401&catId=cat90038

http://www.ae.com/web/browse/product.jsp?productId=1354_5243_400&catId=cat90038&bundleCatId=cat5900154

Banana Republic:

http://bananarepublic.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=5039&vid=1&pid=904788

PLAID BUTTON UP

The plaid top that I have is a really versatile casual piece. I love to wear it with denim cut offs or leggings. It’s a great basic that can be worn with so many different bottoms, and since it’s such a neutral color scheme, I can pair it with so many colors and items in my wardrobe. Here I wore it on a sunny day with shorts and wedges.

I bought mine from Express and it came in a few different colors (tan, pink, blue) I think they are sold out of it though, but look for something similar, I saw some at American Apparel, Hurley, and Guess as well.

I love the color of this minty green one from Hurley for only $18!

SILK BUTTON UP

I can’t get enough of the silk button ups that are everywhere right now, in all different price ranges! I have 2 from Banana Republic one in ivory and one in coral that I wear the most. These are great fitting and decently priced. I wear these ones for  special occasions, out to dinner with friends, date night, etc. The one down side to these is that you have to dry clean them and they can get dirty fast. That’s why I only wear them when I want a dressier look. Although these are also really great to wear with a pair of jeans or cut offs for summer since they are so light and flowy. They go great with shorts, skirts, jeans, leggings, and are even perfect to wear to work! Here are a couple looks:

I paired it with a sheer leopard scarf, tan leather jacket, wedges and khaki shorts for a summer evening look to dinner and a movie at the Grove.

A silk button up is always classy, always classic and a staple for your wardrobe. You can even wear it with a (high waist) mini skirt for a sexier look, but still keeps it classy and covered on top.

EMBELLISHED/BLACK BUTTON UP

Have a few different styles in Black for a dressier night time look. I have one with skulls, one with the “cold shoulder” look where the shoulders are cut out, and one with embellishments. These are an alternatives to the classic button up with details that enhance the look and dress it up a bit.

Here is the skull top I have that I paired with J Brand Jeans and rhinestone heels from Alba. The skull top is from Shopdivine.com which you can get a %5 extra off discount by typing in “sunsetblonde” code at checkout!

Here is a similar one to the cold shoulder one that I have, except this one isn’t a button up, but it has that same type of feel to it that you can buy from Shopdivine.com   Lovers + Friends Black Daydream Blouse

FUN COLORS:

It’s great to get them in fun colors since bright colors are really in for summer.  As I mentioned above (but not pictured) I have a silk button up from Banana Republic in a coral color. Also, not a complete button up, but it’s a nice alternative, this Magenta one from Haute Hippie:

Whatever your lifestyle is, consider adding one or more of these great button ups to your wardrobe!

Love,

Sunset Blonde

15 Responses to “Button Up Love”

  1. Jessica July 3, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

    Great post! Where are the wedges in the pic with the high waisted skirt from? They look super comfy 🙂

    • Sunset Blonde's Blog July 3, 2012 at 7:23 pm #

      The wedges are from Chinese Laundry. I bought them over 2 years ago and I have kept them because they are really comfortable and go with a lot of summer outfits. So I’m not sure they are available for purchase anymore. But I do recommend buying a nude wedge like this as a staple for your wardrobe. They make your legs look longer and are more practical and comfortable than regular heels for summer.

      • Katie August 2, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

        I’m obsessed with white/ivory silk shirts and i can’t find any that i really like for a decent price, i’ve looked at banana republic recently and they didn’t have anything- any other suggestions? i also love your sheer leopard scarf! where did you get it?!

      • Sunset Blonde's Blog August 2, 2012 at 11:47 pm #

        Try J Crew?
        They have a classic style silk button up as well for an affordable price. check out this link:
        <a href="Try J Crew? They have a classic style silk button up as well for an affordable price. check out this link: JCrew

        It’s called the “Blythe blouse in silk” and comes in a bunch of really nice colors!

        I bought the scarf at a boutique in LA for cheap. It caught my eye because it was sheer and different than any other scarf I had. Sorry I couldn’t be more help with where to buy the scarf. . .

      • Sunset Blonde's Blog August 5, 2012 at 10:34 am #

        Check out this post I did for you!
        “Sunset Blonde’s Sheer Leopard Scarf”

  2. beckscostello July 4, 2012 at 7:19 am #

    I love shirts; plaid, plain, stripe! Still looking for a nice silk one though. You look great in all your pics. Thanks for posting where its from gonna see if Banana Republic ship to Ireland.

  3. Anne August 2, 2012 at 9:25 pm #

    Can you tell me what size you are wearing in that denim chambray shirt from AE?? Thanks!

    • Sunset Blonde's Blog August 2, 2012 at 11:38 pm #

      I have it in a size Small. It fits loose on me, which I love. It’s casual and comfortable.

      • Anne August 3, 2012 at 10:44 am #

        Thank you. I finally found this denim shirt on line but could not decide what size. Wasn’t sure if I should size up for the loose casual fit..but found you online and the shirt looked perfect on you and we are about the same size 🙂 thank you so much!

      • A-girl August 10, 2012 at 12:54 pm #

        Hi Sunset Blonde you look beautiful! May I know how tall are you? I want to buy the AE shirt, you are gorgeous in it, but would like it more form-fitting as I already have a looser one. I am about 5’5 and 100 lbs and wondering if xs would be too small?

      • Sunset Blonde's Blog August 10, 2012 at 12:57 pm #

        I think the xsmall definitely won’t be too small on you 🙂 I’m 5’8″. So it should fit you well.

      • A-girl August 10, 2012 at 1:29 pm #

        Thank you so much, that really helps!

  4. Adrina Schwab August 5, 2012 at 9:17 am #

    I absolutely love the tan leather jacket and the scarf! Where can I get one? Btw you have an AMAZING fashion sense! Thanks! (:

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sunset Blonde’s Sheer Leopard Scarf « Sunset Blonde's Blog - August 5, 2012

    […] questions from you lovelies about where I bought my Silk Leopard Print Scarf  that I wore in the “Button Up Love” post. Since you can’t get the same one I have, I figured that I would do some research and […]

Leave a Reply

