Make those Diamonds Sparkle!

3 Jul

If you have them, you know, diamonds can be hard to keep clean, and need daily cleaning. There are a few ways you can clean them. But protecting your diamonds is the most important part, so that it really does last forever. You can even clean your Cubic Zirconia’s with these methods too. 😉

I keep a pretty soap dish in the bathroom that I use to place my rings in when I’m showering or putting on lotion. Then I clean them before putting them back on.

Oils, lotions, hair styling products, makeup and everyday dirt leaves a film & dirt on your diamond ring/diamonds which keep it from looking it’s very best, and most sparkly! If you wait too long between cleanings, those materials can accumulate into a thick layer of gunk on the back of your diamond, blocking light and making the diamond appear dull and lifeless. Who wants that, right?

Diamonds are one of the hardest substances, but that doesn’t mean you can use just any cleanser! Take care when it’s time to make your diamond ring sparkle, because you can still do it damage!

Here’s how to Clean Diamonds

  1. Soak your diamond in a warm solution of mild liquid soap and water. Dish washing liquid/or liquid hand soap is a good choice, my jeweler even told me to soak it in the soapy mixture over night! He said that it’s really good for the diamond.
  2. Use a soft brush if necessary to remove dirt. Soft is the key — don’t use a brush with bristles that are stiff enough to scratch the ring’s metal setting. You can use a clean old toothbrush as your new jewel cleansing tool!
  3. Swish the ring around in the solution, and then rinse it thoroughly in warm water. ALWAYS close the drain first!!  You are guaranteed to drop it at some point, so always make sure it wont go down the drain by closing it tightly. I have dropped a diamond hoop when I was younger down the drain, and luckily my dad was able to get it out. But it’s a horrific feeling, and you may NEVER get it back. So don’t be irresponsible and CLOSE THE DRAIN to keep from losing it!
  4. Dry the diamond ring with a lint-free cloth. 

You can also use a wooden toothpick to very carefully push dirt away from the diamond and setting if there is a lot, but usually a toothbrush does the trick.

My jeweler also gave me this diamond cleaner which I use daily in the mornings before leaving the house. It comes with a little tray and cleaning brush that I can scrub them with. It is the easiest and best way that I’ve found to clean my diamonds. Although my jeweler gave it to me, I noticed that they sell it at drugstores in the Nail polish remover section. They also make one for sterling silver jewelry, but this is the one I use:

Inside of the container is a white plastic try that catches your jewelry at the bottom, and in the middle of it is a black brush that you can use on your diamonds after soaking them for 30 seconds in the solution.

I gently swirl the jewelry around in the solution right before removing them.

The white try acts like a strainer and makes it easy to get your jewelry out of the container.

I always lay the strainer in the lid of the container to catch any remaining liquid so that it doesn’t make a mess.

Before rinsing my jewelry under warm water, I use the mini scrub brush to remove any extra dirt both on top where the diamonds are, and underneath/on the inside.

Then rinse in warm water and pat dry. PLEASE MAKE SURE THE DRAIN IS CLOSED WHEN RINSING IN CASE YOU DROP IT!

Summer fun in the pool is not so fun for your diamonds-although they sparkle a lot in the sun, leave them at home. you need to protect your diamonds from Chlorine! You might already protect your hands from harsh chemicals, but if you don’t, think about how chemicals such as chlorine can affect your fine jewelry. Remove your rings or wear gloves to keep chlorine away from your rings.

Love,

Sunset Blonde

www.sunsetblonde.com

Leave a Reply

