Sunset Blonde: Wedding Dress Shopping, I Bought the Dress!

29 Jul

I did a previous post about shopping for a wedding dress, so this is the follow up to that.

I mentioned that I was returning to the store Panache, in Beverly Hills to try on my top choices again later in the week. At my last dress appointment, I narrowed it down to 2 styles, took photos of each, and then left the store to “sleep on it.” After obsessively looking at the photos for a few days, I could clearly see which one my heart wanted more. I did return, and right away I started picking out other dresses off the racks to try on. I wanted to try on my top choices last, and try a few new ones that I thought I might have over looked. I tried on about 10 more dress styles that day, but nothing was quite like the one I had fallen in love with. I didn’t even try on my second choice, it just wasn’t “The One.”

It is a dress that I never would have pictured myself choosing. If you showed me a photo of the dress, and said this is the one you will pick, I would have said NO WAY. But there was something about this dress that just swept me off my feet, just like my fiance did. It was not only how beautiful I felt in the dress that led me to know it was the one. By seeing how it looked in photos & videos was what made me realize how much I loved looking at it, as if it was someone else wearing the gown.

My friend Jen (my local Matron of Honor) came with me to this final dress appointment, and she was such a great help, suggesting other dress styles to try, taking photos & video for me, and making me feel really beautiful. (Thank you Peachka!) They normally do not let you take photos of the dresses unless you are buying it, but when I narrowed it down to the 2, they allowed my friends to take photos because I made it very clear I planned on buying one.

The best part about my dress? The price! OMG, just half of my budget! As much as I expected wedding dresses to be, I did pretty good! I thought my dress was by Maggie Sottero,  but I just figured out that it’s by Allure Couture! Now, of course I can’t show you any photos of the dress, but I can describe what it looks like, right? It is made of the most soft and beautiful organza, with subtle rhinestone/pearl details throughout the skirt. It is a fit in flare style with a sweetheart top, a gorgeous sash with a beaded/rhinestone applique that is included with the dress (which cuts down on the price!) I would love to tell you more about it, but I’m afraid that it will give too much away… I found the dress online, and the photos from the company just don’t do it any justice. It looks so much different in person.

I’m so excited to wear this dress on my wedding day. It is gorgeous, and luxurious, and amazing. I don’t think I will ever in my life have the opportunity to wear a beautiful dress such as this again, so I am glad that I went with something so incredibly fabulous! All of my girlfriends just loved this dress on me, and were such a big help with my final decision.

Now that the dress has been ordered, it takes 4-6 months for the dress to be made and delivered to the bridal shop.  I am looking forward to trying it on again for the fitting, and getting it fitted to exactly my size, and seeing the actual dress I will be married in!


Stay tuned for more on my wedding dress & my bridal accessories!

Love,

Sunset Blonde

2 Responses to “Sunset Blonde: Wedding Dress Shopping, I Bought the Dress!”

  1. interiorapartment July 30, 2012 at 4:28 am #

    beautiful shop how exciting for u!!!!! loving your blog! xxx Cat

  2. budziak August 1, 2012 at 8:18 pm #

    Great pick. Maggie Sottero has great styles!

Leave a Reply

