Bra Care & Washing in the Washing Machine

16 Oct

I love my bras. They can be expensive, and I like them to last a long time. Hand washing them is a great way to care for them. But I don’t like to take the time to hand wash them, plus I have a lot of them.

I like to have lots of them so that I don’t have to wash them all the time. But, when the laundry piles up, there is a special way that I wash them in order to keep their shape, protect them from getting tangled and ruined. I don’t have the patience to hand wash them, so instead I wash them in the washing machine and hang them to dry. I DON’T suggest ever just throwing them in the washer!!!

Here is how to wash your bras in the washing machine:

1. Clip the backs/or fronts closed. This prevents the little hooks to get stuck on anything. In the washer, those hooks will cause them to get all twisted, snagged, and can ruin your bras.

2. Stack them with like-colored bras. Separate and pair lights, darks, colors.

3. Place them inside lingerie bags and zipper closed. These lingerie bags are a MUST for laundry. They come in handy not only when washing bras, but any delicate item. I use it to wash delicate sweaters, dresses, tops, anything that says “hand wash” is usually pretty safe in one of these bags. I’ve never had something come out ruined.

I have several, they usually come in packs of 2 or 3.

4. Wash on a delicate cycle. I usually wash it in warm or cold water. I prefer warm to really get dirt out.

5. Hang dry. Use a door knob, hanger, or clothes drying rack to hang dry your bras.

Nothing lasts forever, but learning to take care of your things, makes them last longer…

 

Love,

Sunset Blonde

4 Responses to “Bra Care & Washing in the Washing Machine”

  1. katie October 21, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

    You should do a blog post on jean lengths.. like who lengths to get your jeans/pants hemmed depending on what shoes you will be wearing with them.

  2. Sandylashxx October 22, 2012 at 6:27 am #

    excellent tips! Agree with everything you pointed out. Xx

  3. Lea February 19, 2013 at 4:33 pm #

    Where do you buy most of your bras?? Victoria’s secret just doesn’t do it for me. I really can’t find a better brand though.

    • Sunset Blonde's Blog February 27, 2013 at 12:04 pm #

      I get most of them at Target. They have similar quality and styles for a much cheaper price! I check back frequently because they are always coming out with new ones.
      Love,
      Sunset Blonde

Leave a Reply

