Makeup Forever Shopping

5 Nov

As a professional makeup artist, I love that I get major discounts on makeup. Especially 40% off at MAKEUP FOREVER. I love the brand, and I think they make great quality makeup, have an amazing selection of colors, as well as unique products. Today I visited the Makeup Forever store location on Robertson Blvd with a girl friend of mine. She needed a few things, and I never pass up the chance to go makeup shopping! I got a few repeat items, as well as some new ones, plus they gave me a free gift!

Here’s what I got:

Aqua Black Waterproof Cream Eyeshadow.

I use this as an eyeliner. It has the best staying power, and is easily applied with the Sultry Liner Brush from Sunset Blonde Beauty. It is the perfect product to get the winged cat eye effect, and it also works really well when you desire to rim the water lines of your eye. It stays put better than pencils. I also use it to make a smokey eye look by smudging and blending it.

LAB Shine Diamond Collection Lip Gloss in D 0.

I usually never buy any lip glosses with sparkle, despite my love for things that glitter, for fear of looking like a teen. But this sparkly gloss was one that I just couldn’t pass up. It contains really fine particles of sparkle that just ever so slightly reflect the light. I think this is the perfect clear gloss for a daytime look, and can be layered over a lipstick shade at night for extra glam!

2 Lip Liner pencils in No. 49 and No. 50.

I’m usually not much of a lip liner wearer, but I wanted to buy some new ones in natural shades just to define my lips a little more for special occasions like a Red Carpet event, or photoshoot. I like these neutral shades to blend in with my natural lip color, but still define the lip line. I got one lighter one, and one darker shade in a classic pencil form. No. 50 is a light beige/peachy nude, and No. 49 is a light pinky mauve shade.

Sculpting Blushes in No. 24 Matte fawn & No. 20 Satin blood orange

I love the idea of these two shades being in a pro palette. Seeing them next to each other is really inspiring to actually use these shades as sculpting tools for my cheeks. Using the lighter shade on the apples, and tops of my cheeks, and the darker shades below the cheekbones.

Smokey Lash Extra Black Mascara.

I’m so picky about mascaras, and have gotten tired of buying different brands, and always going back to the same Loreal Voluminous brand that I love. This mascara was a full sized free gift from Makeup Forever that I got with my purchase. The wand is very similar to the Loreal one, but the mascara is a bit thinner, and takes more coats to get a similar effect. This one is a great mascara if you like just a light coat of mascara with NO clumps. .

Love,

Sunset Blonde

4 Responses to “Makeup Forever Shopping”

  1. Jezz Dallas November 5, 2012 at 1:44 pm #

    Love MUFE!! The sculpting blush looks interesting. Smokey Lash is a staple for sure!!

    jezzdallasmakeup.blogspot.com

  2. Rina Heartly November 11, 2012 at 10:05 am #

    I love your blog! I’m from Canada and I am trying to change careers and would be intetested in what you’re doing. If you could contact me back that would be great. I just have some questions about how you got where you are and those types of things. Thanks in advance. Rina.

  3. Crystal Cook January 22, 2013 at 9:44 pm #

    I am always looking for a liner that doesn’t move on my oily skin and watering eyes… I recently bought aqua black and although I do love it, it still moves. Any suggestions?

    • Sunset Blonde's Blog January 23, 2013 at 12:52 am #

      Hi! Try the black intense gel eye liner pencil from Trish McEvoy, that’s the only other one I’ve found that has great staying power.

      Buy it here: http://www.trishmcevoy.com/p-226-intense-gel-eye-liner.aspx

      There is also an eyeliner sealer that Bare Minerals makes that might help?
      It’s called “weather everything eyeliner sealer”. If you can still find it to purchase.

      You can also try setting the eyeliner by pressing a similar shade of eyeshadow into it with a small makeup brush to help set it.
      Hope these suggestions help!

      But realistically, like I’ve explained in an earlier post, sometimes touch-ups and fixes are a necessary part of wearing makeup. Your face is a moving, breathing thing. All makeup is temporary, and it lasts on some people longer than others.

      Love,
      Sunset Blonde

Leave a Reply

